Honour Your Truth

Mortality keeps popping up in my life recently. Both symbolic and literal death. And whenever death is mentioned, there’s just one theme that matters:

Regret

Did you do all the things you wanted to do?
Did you love?

And the list goes on. I think there’s a whole lot of truth when people exhort putting 100% of yourself into your “work” or “life” every day. It doesn’t necessarily mean that you exert a lot of physical or mental effort into your life.

What it does mean, however, is:
Did you pay all your attention to what you truly love?
Did you take concrete steps to that end?

I can’t say that I do all that all the time. But when I did, it feels good. As though you know that at the end, you’d be accountable to your most authentic self, whatever label you may want to put on it.

And when you’ve done everything, at least you could say to yourself: “Well, at least I tried.”

And you can then move on.

Published by

Hankit Mok

I live to tell stories. Sometimes, I get paid for them.

Leave a Reply

