Existence – Now, Yesterday, and Forever

Thoughts pop into my head. About a son I may have one day. About the smile of a lady quickly growing in significance in my heart. About what I am doing now. About the blessings I have received thus far.

And yet, I know that they are just beautiful dreams. But what is life without dreams? Tolle talks about the Now, about what is instead of what we want to come to pass. Instead of the past that haunts us. Funny how the past mostly consists mostly of loss, but isn’t that what it is? Seconds in time lost forever. How much of it is real and how much of it is made up?

I listen to Jason Silva enthusing about an optimistic future and find myself yearning for such a future. Surely, if I could remember a time without cellphones like it was yesterday, there will be nanomachines and immortality in my lifetime? Surely if less than a hundred years ago, a “World War” involved only of a bunch of nations around Europe, we can envision a world with no countries? If less than fifty years ago, most of the Western world legislated the end of discrimination against 50% of the human race, we can expect the end of identification with arbitrary geological territories?

But what are they if they are not beautiful dreams? What’s left for us to do today? Now? Does anything in the past matter?

Published by

Hankit Mok

I live to tell stories. Sometimes, I get paid for them.

Leave a Reply

